Chip Ganassi Racing Climbs to Top as INDYCAR’s Best Team

Chip Ganassi Racing Climbs to Top as INDYCAR’s Best Team

Observe: The editorial staff at is using a glance again at the 10 major

Observe: The editorial staff at is using a glance again at the 10 major moments of 2021 in INDYCAR in this calendar year-stop sequence, with just one installment showing up on the site per day in countdown manner from Dec. 22-31.

It was superior for Chip Ganassi Racing when Alex Palou received the initially race of the 2021 NTT INDYCAR Sequence year, held at Barber Motorsports Park. The 12 months grew to become much better for the workforce when Scott Dixon won the year’s 3rd race, the entrance finish of the Texas Motor Speedway doubleheader. Then when Marcus Ericsson gained the opening race in Detroit, well, the time turned historic for the Indianapolis-based business.

For all of Chip Ganassi’s achievements as a crew operator, he had in no way experienced a few motorists earn a race in the very same open up-wheel collection in just one time. The closest to it was 2002, when Kenny Brack and Bruno Junqueira received Champ Car Environment Series races and Jeff Ward went to Victory Lane in the Indy Racing League.

And that wasn’t the only detail of note as CGR grew to become INDYCAR’s gold normal of 2021.

The six wins by the Honda-powered trio gave the group its highest INDYCAR total considering that Dario Franchitti and Dixon combined to get 6 races in 2011. Palou gained 3 occasions (at Barber, Street America and Portland Global Raceway), Ericsson twice (Detroit 1 and Nashville) and Dixon at the time (Texas).

In inserting 3 drivers in the major six of the last standings, Ganassi did some thing that only Roger Penske has completed in this sequence given that 2005. Palou also gave Ganassi his 14th INDYCAR Collection championship with his sixth various driver. Dixon finished fourth, with Ericsson sixth.

It’s also worth noting that CGR excelled whilst also fielding the most-viewed motor vehicle of the period. Jimmie Johnson’s foray into INDYCAR set the No. 48 Honda underneath a shiny highlight for his 12 street and road class races, and then 2004 INDYCAR Sequence winner Tony Kanaan drove it in four oval-keep track of races, like a 10th-place complete in the Indianapolis 500 introduced by Gainbridge.

With Kanaan qualifying in the fifth position for the “500,” Ganassi’s group further more showed its 2021 dominance by having all four of its cars and trucks in the Quick 9 Shootout at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Top the way was Dixon, who won the pole for the fourth time in his job. Palou attained the sixth setting up place with Ericsson finding the ninth. Palou then led 35 laps in the race – the day’s next-highest full driving Conor Daly’s 40 – and finished 2nd to Helio Castroneves.

Increase it up: It was a impressive year for CGR and the series’ very best crew performance of 2021.